Who votes for the winning movies in the Oscar Awards?

Related Articles

What are the Oscars and Who is Eligible to Vote for the Winning Movies?

The Oscars, or Academy Awards, is an annual award ceremony organized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). Each year, AMPAS members honor outstanding achievements in motion pictures by awarding the “Oscars.” Winning an Academy Award is considered one of the highest honors in the film industry.

The Academy’s voting process is carried out in two stages. First, all active members of the Academy are invited to watch the films that are nominated and cast their votes in each of the groups, or “branches,” in which they are eligible. Then, the Academy tally votes, and the winners are announced at the Oscar ceremony. The members of the Academy are able to vote for the films that they feel best deserve to win in all the major categories.

Who Votes for the Winner of the Oscar Awards?

Every year, more than 6,000 members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, based in Los Angeles, come together to decide who will take home the coveted Oscars. Each branch of the Academy – actors, writers, directors, producers, editors, sound engineers, and others – is represented by the AMPAS.

In order to vote for the winners of the Oscar Awards, a person must be an active member of the Academy. In order to become a member, an individual must first be recommended by two current members and then be approved by the Board of Governors. The Academy is open to actors, directors, writers, producers, and other creative professionals who have demonstrated a dedication to the art of motion pictures.

Eligible members are then invited to watch the films nominated and vote in the relevant branches. All films that are nominated for the Oscars must meet certain criteria, including that they have been released in the United States in the prior year and are at least 40 minutes long.

How Do Members Cast Their Votes?

Members of the Academy vote in a two-stage process. The first stage requires members to rank the films in their respective branch, from most preferred on the top to least preferred on the bottom. This narrows down the films in each branch and the five films with the most votes in each branch for the respective category will move on to the final ballot.

Once the five films have been selected, members of the Academy vote again. This time, they vote for the single film they believe should win the Oscar in each category. These votes are tallied and the film with the highest total votes wins the respective category. The winners of the Awards will then be announced at the annual Oscar ceremony.

What About Popular Vote?

Unlike the Oscars, other awards, such as the Golden Globes and People’s Choice Awards, take into consideration popular opinion. For these awards, the general public can have a say in which films win by casting their vote either online or through the mail. This method allows for greater public involvement, but also presents a challenge for voting accuracy. With a large pool of participants, many of whom may not have seen all of the movies nominated, the voting process can be more difficult to control. Nevertheless, it is a widely used system and a great way to recognize popular films.

The Oscars are one of the most prestigious awards in the world of movies and with that comes a long and complex voting procedure. In order to remain fair and impartial, only active members of AMPAS, who have been recommended by two or more current members, are eligible to cast their vote. This selective group then proceeds to watch the nominated films and vote in two stages, narrowing down the field to five finalists and then to the eventual winner. While other awards like the Golden Globes and People’s Choice Awards involve popular opinion, the only opinion that counts in the Oscar Awards is that of the members of the Academy.

More on this topic



Popular stories