A Quiet Place Complete Timeline Explained

Related Articles

A Quiet Place: A Complete Timeline Explained

The horror film, A Quiet Place directed by John Krasinski, was released in April 2018 and quickly became a major sleeper hit. The movie followed a family of four, the Abbott’s, as they struggle to survive in a post-apocalyptic world, a world in which dangerous alien-like creatures have killed off most of the human population. As terrifying as the movie is, what made it even more so was Krasinski’s use of sound. 

For the most part, the characters in A Quiet Place had to remain as quiet as possible, or else the creatures would sense their presence and come after them. Created by Bryan Woods, Scott Beck, and Krasinski, the story of A Quiet Place takes place over a two-year period, starting shortly after the invasion and ending two years after the family’s initial battle with the creatures.

To help viewers better understand the timeline of the movie, here is the complete timeline of A Quiet Place broken down into three parts: Pre-Invasion, Invasion, and Post-Invasion.


The Abbott family’s story starts with a few simple moments in the lives of Lee (John Krasinski) and Evelyn (Emily Blunt) Abbott and their two young children, Regan (Millicent Simmonds) and Marcus (Noah Jupe). The family is living their peaceful lives in a small rural town in Upstate New York.


The first reference to the creatures occurs when news reports start showing up detailing the invasion of unknown monsters that are attacking cities all over the world.

The Abbott family’s lives quickly change when the creatures arrive on their doorstep.

Part One:

  1. Day One: The Abbott’s first encounter with the creatures
  2. Day One to Seven: The Abbott’s begin creating a silent home
  3. Day Seven: Lee Hunts for Supplies
  4. Day Fifteen: Lee and Marcus hunt for Supplies
    Part Two:
  5. Day Seventy: Regan devises a plan to lure the creature away from the family
  6. Day Ninety: Evelyn goes into Labor
  7. Day Ninety-One: The Break in
  8. Day One Hundred and Twenty-Seven: Lee Takes Regan to a Quarry
  9. Day One Hundred and Twenty-Eight: Regan Kills a Creature
  10. Day One Hundred and Twenty-Eight to One Hundred and Thirty-Five: The Family Finds a New Home
    Part Three
  11. Day One Hundred and Fifty-Nine: The Final Battle
  12. Day Two Hundred: TheAbbott’s Enjoy a Quiet Place

A Quiet Place is a horror movie unlike any other. By using the concept of silence to create a unique and terrifying atmosphere filled with tension and suspense, Krasinski created a powerful story that lingers with audiences long after the credits roll. By understanding the movie’s timeline, viewers can see how these events unfolded over two years in the life of the Abbott family and gain a better appreciation for the story.

More on this topic



Popular stories