James Patterson’s Alex Cross Books in Order: All Books

Related Articles

James Patterson’s Alex Cross Books in Order: A Comprehensive Guide to All Books

The Alex Cross series of books is one of the best-known books in the world of crime fiction, written by the worldwide bestselling author, James Patterson. Spanning over 30 years, the Alex Cross series consists of 24 unique novels and 3 collections, each one filled with suspense and intrigue. The books follow the story of Alex Cross, a former FBI agent who is now a homicide detective in Washington, DC. This comprehensive guide lists every title in the Alex Cross series, in order of publication so that eager crime fiction fans can easily read them all in order.

Alex Cross Series Overview 

The Alex Cross series of books began in 1991 with the novel “Along Came a Spider.” Since then, 24 other novels in the series have been published with the latest being “Cross Kill” in 2016. In addition to the 24 novels, the series also includes 3 collections, the first of which, “Alex Cross’s Trial”, was released in 2009.

Out of the 27 titles in the series, 8 of them were adapted into feature films. The first movie “Kiss the Girls” was released in 1997. Featuring Morgan Freeman as Cross, the movie was a major box office success and sparked the creation of three more films “Along Came a Spider” (2001), “Alex Cross” (2012) and “Double Cross” (2013).

Alex Cross Books in Order 

Here is a complete list of all of the Alex Cross books in order, ranging from novel volumes to collections.


Along Came a Spider (1991)

Kiss the Girls (1995)

Jack and Jill (1996)

Cats and Dogs (1997)

Pop Goes the Weasel (1999)

Roses are Red (2000)

Violets are Blue (2001)

Four Blind Mice (2002)

The Big Bad Wolf (2003)

London Bridges (2004)

Mary Mary (2005)

Cross (2006)

Double Cross (2007)

Cross Country (2008)

Alex Cross’s Trial (2009)

I, Alex Cross (2009)

Cross Fire (2010)

Kill Alex Cross (2011)

Merry Christmas, Alex Cross (2012)

Alex Cross, Run (2013)

Cross My Heart (2013)

Hope to Die (2014)

Cross Justice (2015)

Cross the Line (2016)

The People vs. Alex Cross (2016)

Private Delhi (2016)

Private Games (2017)

Cross Kill (2016)


Beach House (2002)

Second Honeymoon (2006)

Copyright (2009)

The Alex Cross series is undoubtedly one of the most influenced and popular crime fiction books. With 24 thrilling novels and 3 collections in the series, James Patterson has brought to life the story of former FBI agent turned detective, Alex Cross. All of the books in the series have been compiled here in order of publication, making it easy for you to read them as they were intended. If you’re looking for an exciting escapade of action, intrigue, and suspense, then the Alex Cross series is an excellent choice!

More on this topic



Popular stories